Great Lakes Region

The Great Lakes Region is one of seventeen regions that comprise the Navy League of the United States.  There are five states in the Region: Wisconsin, Illinois, Kentucky, Indiana, and Michigan.  The Region is divided into three areas:

Michigan Area: State of Michigan
Northwest Great Lakes Area: Wisconsin & Northern Illinois
Southwest Great Lakes Area: Southern Illinois, Kentucky, & Indiana

There are approximately 2,500 Navy League members living in the Great Lakes Region.  They are members of 24 Councils located throughout the Region, who support local Sea Service personnel and their families.  The Sea Services include the Navy, Marine Corps, Coast Guard, and US-flag Merchant Marine.

The largest Sea Service installation is Naval Station Great Lakes (Illinois), home to the Navy’s only boot camp, post-boot camp training schools, Corpsman School, Navy Region Midwest Commander, and Navy Service and Training Command.  Also located in the Region are US Coast Guard Sector Lake Michigan, USCG Air Stations Traverse City and Detroit, numerous Coast Guard stations along the shores of Lake Michigan, Marine Air Control Group 48 (Great Lakes), 13 Navy Operations and Support Centers, and Marine Corps Reserve Centers.

There are 34 US Naval Sea Cadet Corps units in the Region, and 41 Navy Junior ROTC units.  One of the Navy League’s missions is to also support these youth programs.  Many are sponsored by local Councils.

Great Lakes Region is also home to Marinette Marine Corporation, a mid-size shipyard, where the Great Lakes Icebreaker USCGC Mackinaw, several Coast Guard buoy tenders, and Littoral Combat Ships (LCS) have been built.  Navy League members have the opportunity to participate in shipbuilding and commissioning activities.